Kubrick Exhibit at LACMA

I spent longer at the Stanley Kubrick exhibit at the LA County Museum of Art than any other single exhibit I’ve been to at a museum.  Indeed, Sunday marked the longest museum day I’ve ever had — over six hours, which included the Kubrick and Caravaggio exhibits as well as others.  LACMA is quite the vast museum campus.

I’ve always thought that Kubrick might have been more prolific and generated a couple more movies, especially in the latter part of his career. After seeing how much effort was put into making one of his movies, and how much work he did that did not result in a released picture, I no longer believe this.  This is an excellent exhibit, the more so if you appreciate the numerous masterpieces Kubrick has made, but invaluable for anyone interested in the process of making movies.  I am feeling very much inspired to go back and watch the Kubrick films I have not seen, including Paths of Glory, The Killing, Lolita, and Barry Lyndon.  I think I’ll wait for a bigger TV or theatrical release to watch Spartacus.  The exhibit runs through June 30.

4 thoughts on “Kubrick Exhibit at LACMA

  1. Pingback: Kubrick’s Killing | movies remark

  2. Pingback: Room 237 | movies remark

  3. Pingback: Escape from Room 237 | movies remark

  4. Pingback: The Shining Meets New Yankee Workshop | movies remark

Leave a Comment

