Film Brief: Stoker

Stoker, with Mia Wasikowska, Nicole Kidman and Matthew Goode, smolders and smolders, but never quite catches a full fire.  With good and mysterious performances by all and a well-stylized production, this movie entertains.  I am glad I saw it, but it has plot problems — not enough meat on its bones.  6/10.

This movie made me think about Lars von Trier’s great movie Antichrist, and the movies I really love.  I want a movie to stick in my brain, otherwise what’s the point?  Though I liked Stoker, I hardly think I’ll remember it a few years from now.  More on Antichrist later.  Now there’s a movie no one can forget.

Matthew Goode and Mia Wasikowska in Stoker

Matthew Goode and Mia Wasikowska in Stoker

3 thoughts on “Film Brief: Stoker

  1. Pingback: The Place Beyond the Pines | movies remark

  2. Pingback: Monday Mania: American Psycho | movies remark

  3. Pingback: The Best and Worst of 2013 | movies remark

Leave a Comment

