Times’ take on The Place Beyond the Pines

I don’t plan on getting in the habit of posting links to external reviews — that’s not what my blog is about.  But because there is so much interest in this movie, and because it is, in typical New York Times fashion, consummately written, I am making an exception.  I have disagreed strongly with A.O. Scott in the past (on his lauding of The Grey, for example), so I cannot say whether I would agree with him in his mixed review.

Of note is the setting of Schenectady, N.Y., which makes a connection to another movie I’ve written about, Synecdoche, New York; see my post “Film as Soufflé.”Place-beyond-Pines-NYTimes

Leave a Comment

