Comments on Star Trek Into Darkness

Star_Trek_Into_Darkness_poster_24X36Star Trek Into Darkness is pretty much what you’d expect, as long as you’re not expecting a good movie.  Trekkies, the general population, and halfwit critics alike have rendered judgement in its favor.  I’m a moderate Trekkie, but the cinephile in me trumps my Trekkieness.

Very few people will remember this movie five years from now.  Now think of Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, of which this movie was a very loose remake.  For fans of good movies, whether or not they are Trekkies, The Wrath of Khan still resonates.  When you compare those two films, I say that any true Trekkie would weep at this 2013 offering.  A true Trekkie could no more laud Into Darkness than scorn Wrath of Khan.

A.O. Scott mirrors my thoughts in his Times review:

…it’s hard to emerge from “Into Darkness” without a feeling of disappointment, even betrayal.  Maybe it is too late to lament the militarization of “Star Trek,” but in his pursuit of blockbuster currency, Mr. Abrams has sacrificed a lot of its idiosyncrasy and, worse, the large-spirited humanism that sustained it.

He goes on to call the movie “uninspired hackwork”, another sentiment I share.  Beyond general lameness, Into Darkness was also never particularly dark, and the Khan character didn’t work for me any more than the rest of the movie.  A failure on most fronts, I liked enough of it, including some of the music and 3-D visuals, to render a 3/10.

4 thoughts on “Comments on Star Trek Into Darkness

  1. Nice to see someone disliking this film even more than I did. I don’t know if I would call myself a Trekkie but I have all the films and most of the original and TNG episodes.

    Why not craft an original story rather than making an inferior retread of arguably the best Star Trek film? Time for this franchise to boldly go somewhere new and without screenwriter/hack Damon Lindelof.

    • I’m not really a Trekkie, in the sense of dressing up and all that, but I’m a fan of the original series and the better movies, which is enough for me to consider myself a Trekkie. I’d say you are too with your Star Trek collection.

      Thanks for your comment, I agree wholeheartedly. I suppose it’s not so easy to come up with new ideas — but then some great, original sci-fi movies come along (e.g. in my post “Sci-Fi Do or Die”) and it makes you think that the machinery behind these big movies is simply scared to — as you put it — go boldly somewhere new.

  2. Pingback: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo: English vs. Swedish | movies remark

  3. Pingback: The Best and Worst of 2013 | movies remark

Leave a Comment

