Film Brief: I’m a Cyborg, But That’s OK

I'm a Cyborg PosterWhen shown on one of the indie movie channels a while back, I liked a few minutes of I’m a Cyborg, But That’s OK (Korea, 2006) enough that I put it on my watch list.  Sadly, I was disappointed when I finally got around to seeing it.  Though it has some fun and inventive aspects and a charming lead actress, it becomes a tiresome bore.  It has received some critical praise, so you may want to judge for yourself.  I applaud its quirky freshness, but the story was in constant retreat.  I would discourage anyone from seeing this as an introduction to Asian cinema.  3/10

* * *

Comparison Notes: The City of Lost Children, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Skin I Live In, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Mystery Train, Back to the Future

Leave a Comment

