80’s Flashback: The Sure Thing

The Sure Thing - poster

THIS TO ME is the defining young John Cusack role, though he doesn’t seem much matured in Being John Malkovich.

In any case, The Sure Thing (1985) is a terrific, warm-hearted romantic comedy and a quintessential 80’s classic.  Directed by Rob Reiner as the follow-up to his big-screen debut This Is Spinal Tap, he continued on with Stand By Me, The Princess Bride, When Harry Met Sally…, Misery and A Few Good Men.  Wow!  What a run of directorial triumphs by the Meathead.

Comparison Note: Prior post on Valley Girl

The trailers available for The Sure Thing are wanting, so here’s something much better, a hilarious clip!

4 thoughts on “80’s Flashback: The Sure Thing

  1. I
    was curious if you ever thought of changing
    the structure of your website? Its very well
    written; I love what youve got
    to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so peoploe
    could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2
    images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. Constance, thanks for your compliments. There are some things I would like to change about this site, but not so much in the posts. I like to include one or two pictures and usually a trailer so that people can get an idea of what the movie is about, but I’m not interested in presenting a photo gallery. That’s why for all films I recommend I provide a link to the IMDb page, which has more photos, and other than that people can look on the internet for more photos if they like.

    As far as the amount of text I have — I say only as much as I think I need to to bring something original to the party. There are already lots of reviews out there for any movie I’m writing on, so I only like to say as much as novel to my point of view. You’ll see for some movies I’m quite brief (the example above) where on other films I go more in-depth.

    Thanks again and keep those comments coming!

Leave a Comment

