Film Brief: Mean Girls

Mean Girls posterMean Girls (2004, Lindsay Lohan and Rachel McAdams) is one of those movies that is frequently shown on TBS and like stations, à la Wedding Crashers.  I kept running across it, for some reason always in the scene toward the end where all the girls are seated in the gymnasium.  It seemed like it would be a fun movie based on what I saw, and so, like any movie I run across on TV that I want to watch, I made sure not to watch too much of it lest plot elements be given away.

Mean Girls - text block

 

 

I needn’t have worried, for there are no plot elements of any value in this movie.  Mean Girls is a contrived, formulaic, and mostly awful high school-based non-comedy.  I was warned at the outset, when I saw it was a Lorne Michaels production — generally the hallmark of complete dreck.  The positive Tomatometer score makes me wonder if I was watching the same movie.

So as Nap-to-the-D would say:

This is pretty much the worst video ever made.

Well, not quite the worst.  But close.  2/10


Comparison Notes (all vastly superior): Heathers, Jennifer’s Body, Donnie Darko, Fast Times, Napoleon Dynamite, a whole slew of 80’s teen flicks, Superbad, The House Bunny

Leave a Comment

