A couple thoughts on the Golden Globes

First off, I found it mostly dull and somehow “off.”  If this really was Tina Fey and Amy Poehler’s  last Golden Globes then good riddance.  I’ve got nothing against Tina Fey, but other than her dead-on, hilarious impression of Sarah Palin, I don’t find her that funny.  And Amy Poehler not at all.  To stretch it out, all of that NBC-based comedy of the last 5+ years is weak.  I say bring back Ricky Gervais.

The awards.  I was hoping that The Theory of Everything would take the top drama prize.  I was particularly hoping that Boyhood would not.  Now I liked Boyhood, giving it a 7/10, but there are numerous core aspects of the film that are amateurville.  It’s basically like a bunch of mini Parenthood episodes strung together.  And that’s not a bad thing.  But it’s a far cry from best of the year.

Many years ago I gave up on the idea that the Best Film Oscar would go to the best film of the year.  So when 12 Years a Slave won last year, I understood the rarity of the coincidence.  This year the best movie is Under the Skin, which I’ve known all along is way too divisive and too oblique to win any big PR-based awards.

Golden Globes FY 2014 - text blockBut I had thought that The Theory of Everything’s inspirational story would give it the edge over Boyhood.  What is Boyhood’s message, its enduring memory?  Darned if I can find one.  That people grow up and basic life stuff happens, maybe?  It’s a big powderpuff of a movie once you remove the 12-year production.  And now all the momentum is steering toward it taking the big prize.

On the comedy side, I don’t have a big problem with The Grand Budapest Hotel winningA Most Wanted Man - still.  I’m not sure it was the best comedy of the year, but close enough.

One more note — what happened to the highly lauded A Most Wanted Man?  I thought these awards groups loved giving posthumous accolades?  When it was released it was showered with praise.  Also, did I miss something — was there an “In Memoriam” segment?

One thought on “A couple thoughts on the Golden Globes

  1. Pingback: Film Brief: Leviathan | movies remark

Leave a Comment

